A Notable Day with My Local Government


Originally posted on WP Writers Group:

English: Local government hierarchy in the Phi...

English: Local government hierarchy in the Philippines. The dashed lines emanating from the president means that the president only exercises general supervision on local government. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I went to our Manila local government (Barangay) office today to renew my Barangay ID. I need to have one so I could get all other valid IDs. I wasted about 15 minutes waiting for the ID section photographer and while I was waiting, I was thinking that this lowly clerk had to have clout to be late for the first day of office this new year. I finally asked a secretary why I have to wait for this ‘Jerome’ but before I finished my question, the secretary asked me to fill up a form. She probably felt guilty.

After submitting the form, she checked my status on her computer. Then she told me I have to get a police clearance first…

View original 235 more words

About DigitalPlato

Poch is a Bookrix author and a freelance writer. He is a frequent contributor to TED Conversations.
This entry was posted in activism, corruption, government, Philippines, Society. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

