Why I am Grateful for My Facebook ‘Suspension’


Facebook Notifications Management (Mark as Spam!)

Facebook Notifications Management (Mark as Spam!) (Photo credit: @superamit)


My ironic interaction with Facebook
FB was my first, still active network. It became the most useful and my fav when my childhood best friend succeeded in using it to find me (we lost contact for 26 years!). Imagine my joy. Then suddenly, last December 2012, FB suspended my account without giving any reason. The exact date? On the birthday (Dec 26) of my best friend when we have to correspond of course. And just hours or a day before that, a private family photo of Mark Zuckerberg’s sister Randi was published by her friend without permission https://pochp.wordpress.com/2012/12/26/facebook-photo-privacy-breach/

The reasons why I am grateful for my Facebook ‘Suspension’
If you still hate FB after reading this, that’s just fine with me. In my case, I have to use FB just to promote my articles.

2 Reasons:

1. I had an opportunity to create a new Friend List
Unfriending on FB is considered unethical and I was saved from doing that.

2. I discovered that a minimalist FB page is better
My first FB page was full of apps and links because I created it to resemble my WordPress blog!

Did you have the same experience? If not, try to have what I experienced. You might like it too.

Why You Should Stop Sharing Your Location On Facebook And Twitter
‘Did you realise that every status update you post on Facebook, or tweet you output on Twitter, may be giving your physical location away?

‘Each time you hit that enter key a geotag may be telling your friends, followers, random stranger and potential burglars exactly where you are at that point in time.

‘If you don’t think that sounds too clever then you can stop it happening quite simply -…’
read more

A Visual Guide To Staying Safe On Social Media
‘Social media is still like the wild wild west (sans Will Smith) and you should always have that little voice in the back of your brain asking you a few questions before you post. For the most part, you probably post safe-for-work stuff on Twitter and the other big networks. But how exactly can the wrong post affect you? Check out this handy visual for a bit of insight.

‘The guide runs through some handy tidbits you should know. For example, what can you post on Facebook, what’s allowed on Tumblr, and how often do people post their location? Should you actually post your location on social networks? The verdict is still out the but the facts are in: this guide shows about a quarter of all users attach their current location to posts. That’s a lot higher than I would have thought!…’

The graphic in this post might not be sharp on your page like mine
infographic

About DigitalPlato

Poch is a Bookrix author and a freelance writer. He is a frequent contributor to TED Conversations.
This entry was posted in news, online safety, social media, social networking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I am Grateful for My Facebook ‘Suspension’

  1. din1992bay says:

    That’s a good writing first of all. My largest gap with finding a friend on facebook is 9 years..:-)

    Like

  2. Pingback: My gap year, a journey towards enlightenment | Become a fan of the worlds most lovable Pug! (please?) :3

  3. Pingback: Petition against Facebook, ON FB – You in? – The Treasure Trove

What do you think?

